The Yarn of Your People: Part 2

Last month our friends at Shall We Knit hosted a wedding shower/fundraiser for the indigodragonfly Studio  as part of their Worldwide Knit in Public festivities. As part of that event, we auctioned off naming and colour design rights and dyed their yarn at the event.  

Rocky Mountain High

Ronni’s yarn came next. Now, it’s important to note that not only were we dyeing yarn for a good friend, but um, she and her family came all the way from California to watch.

No pressure.

For Ronni Ron went for deep and dark greys with dusky purple and blue-violet casts to commemorate childhood memories of the Rocky Mountains.

When I was a child of single digit years we lived in Colorado and Wyoming. My parents liked the mountains and my mom had a mania for not staying home on the weekend and for going out and doing things but there’s not a lot to do there so we used to go up to them from the high plains part of the state where we lived nearly every weekend when the weather was good. I however, had terrible trouble with my eustachian tubes and my ears not popping easily so every weekend I would be sitting in the back seat in tears from the pain of the differential pressure until they popped. I had to keep my tears silent though because it wasn’t nice to ruin mom’s outing by fussing. So I chewed a lot of gum (which my mum otherwise refused to let me have because chewing gum was a “nasty” habit) and suffered. And it is certainly true that when they finally did pop once we were at whatever altitude we were stopping at for the day I enjoyed the mountains as much as the next person. Yet, now that I am a mommy I can’t imagine making my kid go through that. I’d have found a baby sitter and left her at home or something. But I am glad I did get to go in some ways because it was beautiful there.

Layers and layers….

IMG_1365 IMG_1366

To get another subtle colour way of my dreams:DSC_0041

Don’t worry mom, I know what I am doing, hydrogen is safe.

And finally, Russ and his…well, I’ll let him tell it…

I don’t know what colors one would associate with blowing up a basement. I was a freshman in high school and a geek before it was cool. for a science project, I made hydrogen, by soaking steel wool in vinegar. I tested it’s popping power by running a current through some other steel wool in a small cylinder of hydrogen. Getting bored with this, one day I made a small torch by burning hydrogen directly on the tube. The flame jumped through the tube into the gallon jug right by my head. After the explosion, My mom said her ears were ringing upstairs. Dust flew up from the floor and caught the sunlight in pretty little display. She didn’t say anything to me at the time, though. She just sat in her chair crocheting and chuckling.

…If you can make it work, throw in some yellow orange for the stars I saw as I flew through the air.

This one came with cackling…

IMG_1376

Possibly my favourite photo of the day:IMG_1380

And resulted in this:DSC_0033

(I hear rumours that someone in the crowd may have said, “I didn’t have a basement.” Seriously, I love you people!)

Magma Carta

Since we had pots and dye, Ron added an extra colour…as one does…

DSC_0039

All skeins have wandered off to new homes and raised a total of $3,110 for our Studio Fund.

Thanks again to M for her photography!

Want to make your own contribution to our Studio Fund? Support our indiegogo campaign right here and share this link widely.

2 thoughts on “The Yarn of Your People: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Eclectic Closet Litblog, Book Reviews & Knitting Designs » Blog Archive » Help Build Indigodragonfly a Dye Studio!

Leave a Reply

