Belated, Beloved.

Friday was Ron’s birthday.  And since I wasn’t able to be upright or focus for more than a few minutes at a time and because Ron was off bowling for the wolves yesterday, we’ve decided to celebrate today.  So just pretend with me that it’s really Friday and that there’s still a whole weekend ahead…you know you want to…

It is with no exaggeration that I tell you that this has been the worst year. Death, family illness, wedding date set and cancelled…twice, death, family reshuffling, house purchase from hell, playing constant catch-up with our schedule, family illness…  All this mixed in with the very best of times for our business…the very best dream opportunities coming at absolutely the very worst times.  Ever stir a dyepot for your dream yarn support source while packing for your mother’s death & funeral?  Yes.  That kind of extreme.  The kinds of extremes that have led us to the point where the well runs dry and the computer breaks down all in one week and we just kind of sit there and say “of course the well ran dry and the computer broke down.”  Because there’s nothing left.

This has been the year that Ron has taken it all on. Usually it’s me in the lead, but that’s changed this year.  Ron’s kept the house and business going while I travel to teach and promote us. He’s kept up the household when I’m too exhausted. He alone dealt with #20,001 & co. on the house deal from hell at the worst time possible…and for that alone, I may owe him until the end of time. (it’s the only time I’ve seen him REALLY angry) He’s taken on more of the business, shifting into roles that make me very proud to know him.  And for one very important week this year, he shut ME down.  Fired me.  Gave me an actual virtual pink slip. I’m still kind of speechless.

He’s developed a strange fascination with the house inspection binder.  I keep finding it in the strangest places.

His colours are still some of my favourites…and usually ones that I wouldn’t choose.

He’s come to expect hotels to clearly lay out signs stating their circus animal expectations.

He found Louie. He made friends with Louie. He and Louie spend quality time everyday.  We really really need to get another dog…

A year ago, I thought he was a better partner than I could ever expect, both in life and in business.  This year, he’s not only proved that to be correct, but has raised the bar several octaves.  The fact that he’s survived, that I’ve survived, and more importantly, that WE’VE survived and still actually like each other?  That’s a lot to celebrate.

Happy Birthday Ron!

PS: If you’re in Toronto and free this Thursday, November 1, join us for the launch party of Ron’s latest poetry collection, Atlas Sneezed (Montreal publisher Cactus Press)  at the Black Swan, 154 Danforth Ave. (doors open at 7:30, readings start at 8:00)

14 thoughts on “Belated, Beloved.

  1. Happiest of birthdays to Ron and virtual hugs to both of you. What a great team you are. Hope the future offers rather smoother sailing than 2012 has done.

  2. Happy birthday Ron!! I’m sorry this year has been so rough, and I’m routing for you to have a better year in every way next year

  3. Happiest of birthdays to Ron! Keep on rockin’ it, dear sir. And may the world ease up on both of you and give you a breather. XO

  4. Happy birthday to Ron! And congratulations to you both for surviving this year, and with such good humour. Your minions love you both!

  5. All I can say is, “Thank you, Ron!” We really ought to be celebrating both of you and not just on one day. I’m terribly sorry it’s been such an awful, awful year and I’m really hoping the next 50 make it up to you! Best to you both and happy, happy birthday, Ron!!!

  6. Happy Birthday Ron! And what a great story on an awful year. I would say this would fit the category ‘Knit with love,’ but in this case it is a ‘Dye with love.’

    Good luck with the launch party, enjoy yourselves! Ciao, Fleur

    PS – The title ‘Atlas Sneezed’ makes me wonder if Ron is a fan of Ayn Rand or the opposite…

  7. Happy late birthday, Ron! And thank you for the Herculean effort you have both made this year to keep each other vertical, and to keep your lives together. You inspire us in more ways than you know.

  8. As one of your oldest friends (close to 40 years now I think) let me say that Ron is perfect for you – you are perfect for each other – and as your annus horribilis ends remember the high points – cherish the love of those here and gone, revel in house ownership (I suggest by running around naked), and exault in a business appreciated by so many. Happy Birthday Ron, love to you both.

Leave a Reply

