Needles & Threads

Hi everyone…

As many of you may know (or don’t know), I host a weekly radio program. The show is called Needles & Threads, and is on our community station 100.9 Canoe FM Monday nights from 9 – 10 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, and is also carried on the internet at www.canoefm.com .

Each week, I usually choose a specific theme or logical song progression – for instance, last week’s show was songs with a really heavy, prominent bass line, and this week’s show features some of the best vocalists of Rock, Pop, R&B and Soul from the past 60 years.

So what does this mean to you??

Well, what I’m looking for is to do a show of your favourite songs – what I request is the song title, the artists, your first name, city, province/state. Guidelines for your song – it must be a good song, have no foul words in the lyrics, be preferably 5 minutes long or less, available on iTunes, and oh yeah, it must be a good song. I can get away with playing just about any music genre, but please no Bird Dance, Macarena or Kenny G requests!

You can send me your song request by either leaving a comment at the end of this post, or send it by email to ron@indigodragonfly.ca . Let me know in one sentence as to why this is your favourite song if it has any special significance to you etc. – sell it!

The deadline for song requests will be October 26, and the show will air on Monday October 29. And if I get enough requests, there can always be a second show on the following Monday.

Okay, so there you have it. I suggest you at least check out the radio station’s website – it has live streaming, and a very diverse show schedule. 1 a.m. to 5 p.m. is a mix of songs from the 40s to the present, and there’s approx. 20 – 30 DJs doing different shows up until 1 a.m. most every night.

Okay – let’s crank out some good tunes!

-Ron🙂

12 thoughts on “Needles & Threads

  1. Sisters of Mercy as sung by Serena Ryder. Great Leonard Cohen lyrics and her beautiful voice make this a song that both calms me down and lifts me up. A song to re-energize the soul.
    Caroline
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Canada

  2. Undun by The Guess Who (Burton Cummings).
    Cummings has the best rock/blues voice, and this song really shows his range.
    Cari
    Waterloo, Ontario
    Canada

  3. I Don’t Think About You Anymore But, I Don’t Think About You Any Less
    By Hungry Ghosts
    This song speaks to my soul – haunting, sad yet uplifting!
    Mary
    Tempe, AZ, USA

  4. “Apron Strings” by Beady Belle. Honestly can’t say why this is a favourite of mine … just that the combination of vocals and instruments makes it something that I can play over and over without ever getting tired of it.

  5. “Numb” by Linkin Park.
    I was always compared to other people when I was a kid and this just resonates with me.

    Rita, Valencia, CA

  6. Moondance by Van Morrison and Somewhere Down the Crazy River by Robbie Robertson. Both songs are evocative and beautiful, showcasing each singer’s voice.

  7. Jethro Tull’s “She Said She Was a Dancer” and “The Waking Edge” are hauntingly beautiful. Crest of a Knave is one of my favorite albums of all time.

    Mandy, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

  8. Just yesterday I watched and listened to ‘the Pretender’ by the Foo Fighters and I am still humming it. It is my way of mental floss: http://www.bluemarkforme.com/?p=1155 So either that song, or ‘Didn’t Cha Know?’ by Erykah Badu. I admit, the songs couldn’t be more different!

    Ciao, Fleur (Fleurtje-Eliza on Ravelry)

    The Netherlands

  9. Hawksley Workman’s “Autumn’s Here”, which is a song that evokes fall in Haliburton County for me, every time I hear it. The first time I heard it, I was driving home after the death of my dad. It’s pure elegy for me.

    Lisa, Peterborough, Ontario.

Leave a Reply

