Random Thoughts on Teaching and Speaking

1.  This week was the first week of the course I teach for the Visual Arts Diploma at the Haliburton School of The Arts.  We started with learning how to write Artist Statements.  I’m seriously considering lobbying for renaming the class Whining 101. Because it really doesn’t matter how long you’ve been an artist: writing an artist statement is hard and makes people cranky. Yet they all push through it and get through it and do a really good job of communicating what their art is about. And to top it all off, they seem really proud of themselves.

2.  I like to think it perhaps helped a little that I told them I myself am currently struggling with writing my talk for next week’s KW Knitters Guild meeting.  I’m really not convinced they believed me when I told them I was speaking about Knitting and Sarcasm.

3. They’ll learn.

4.  They also thought the slide about writing an “image list” that included an item called Cute and Cuddly Mutant Zombie Squirrels of Doom was fake too.

5.  There are still a few spots open in my classes at Shall We Knit in Waterloo ON this weekend.  Remember when I blogged about that?  Registration happens here.  I’m currently packing up little skeins of colourly goodness for students to play with.  They make me very happy.

6.  My Saturday class at Shall We Knit is a greatly abbreviated version of a course I’ll be teaching this summer at the Haliburton School of The Arts:  Dyeing to Design.  The difference?  The summer course will involve learning to dye the colours as well as design with colour.  In the most beautiful setting in the world.

7.  We may also have plans to have a dinner at our studio for students so that they can pick all of our brains. Otis is unwilling to give away his squirrel hunting secrets however.  Sorry.

8.  Of course, if you prefer, I’m also teaching Whining 101 in the summer as well…

Leave a Reply

