Have You Ever…

…heard a song lyric wrong?  Really, really wrong?  Happens to me all the time.

Like:

Gave me a bite of a sandwich instead of Gave me a vegemite sandwich (I Come From a Land Down Under)

So today’s quiz item is this:  Tell us your favourite mixed up…or simply WRONG, song lyric.

(Pssttt…one more day of these…we’ll announce the winners on Thursday!)

Anniversary Contest details:

If you’ve arrived here for the first time and have no clue why we’re asking these crazy questions, you should know that we’re running an Anniversary Contest!

The Anniversary Contest runs until August 4, at which point we will have a very unique drawing for the prizes. There are four prizes available:

1. The last remaining first Smart-Ass Knitters/World Domination Club package

2. A cable mug by Susanne James and a skein of either silk lace or merino sock yarn(your choice of in stock colours)

3.  A Darby Bayly project bag chosen by Otis, a skein of MCN Sport (in your choice of in stock colours) and a Storm Water Cowl pattern.

4.  A Tom Bihn Little Swift and 5 skeins of your choice of Indigodragonfly Yarn.  (Thanks Darcy, Tom and crew!)

So how do you enter?

Lots of ways.

1. Leave us a comment, and you get an entry (1 comment per day per person)

2. If you were the very, very first customer, you get an entry. (I know who you are, you don’t have to. )

3. Answer weird quiz questions. They will be random, both in their timing and their content. We will give entries to the first 1-5 correct answers (depending on how we feel that day…we’ll give you fair warning), either in the comments or by email. (If you leave them in the comments, quiz answers count as an entry in addition to your comment entry…are you confused yet? Good. We like you that way.)

4. Buy stuff. Heck, why not? For every $25 purchased, you get an entry.

OK…..GO!

36 thoughts on “Have You Ever…

  1. Don’t really have one of my own, as I’m actually pretty good at getting the lyrics right. My brother used to play songs for me to tell him the lyrics so he could sing along correctly🙂 I did however, know someone in college that would sing ZZ Top’s Sharp Dressed Man as, “everybody’s crazy ’bout a sha dressed man” – that’s not even a word & she was a music major🙂

  2. Drat, I don’t have one for this. However, I do remember reading in the liner notes of a Seal album that he purposely chose not to include the lyrics because he wanted people to be able to think the lyrics were whatever they chose. It’s always bothered me….

  3. Jo Dee Messina Bye Bye – I thought it was “put my left foot down on my accelerator” but it is really “put my LEAD foot down on my accelerator” not too far off, but I was a bit embarrassed when I was corrected!!

  4. Always thought it was You look line a lady by Aerosmith. JUST discovered it’s DUDE looks like a lady. Means I probably have most of the other lyrics wrong too

  5. A very long time ago in another life I was one of a trio of back-up singers for a cheap local cover-band. We never bought scores – the musicians could play by sound and one of us back-up girls was a human jukebox – but we were stumped on this one particular phrase in the last verse of “Love The One You’re With.” At the very last minute we finally decided to make up a nonsense-phrase, sing it really loud, and just hope for the best. Wouldn’t you know that not only did nobody catch on … but we actually had a few poor drunken sots in the front sing along with us WORD FOR WORD. Getting rock lyrics wrong is a universal phenomenon!!! ;~D

  6. “You’re my soul, and my heart is a raisin.” I was not so right about what the Righteous Brothers were singing…

  7. A friend of mine, who was a big rocker in the 80’s, always thought the song by Kiss went:
    “I wanna rock ‘n’ roll all night…. and probably every day.”
    (of course, it’s “party” every day)

  8. I always used to think that Steven Tyler sang “I feel like a caribou” instead of “I feel like the colour blue” in Aerosmith’s song ‘Crazy’. You can tell which era I grew up in! ~Allie

  9. Remember that old childhood song about the wheels on the bus…and how it traveled over the city streets? Apparently, I was strongly convinced in my youth that the bus traveled over the “sitting” streets…that stubborn streak was there from the beginning!

  10. I kinda like listening to Skinny Puppy. Every time I hear one of their songs I figure out 1 more line so it sounds less & less unintelligible

  11. Until the Madonna ‘Glee’ episode, I honestly thought the line in ‘Like A Prayer’ was “life requesting,” not, “let the choir sing.” (the line that comes in, you know, right before the choir sings. Yep.)

  12. Two misheard lines from Dylan’s “Shelter from the storm”

    Real line:
    Nothing really matters much, it’s doom alone that counts.
    My mishearing:
    Nothing really matters much to the local cows.

    Real line:
    If I could only turn back the clock to when God and her were born.
    My mishearing:
    If I could only turn back the clock to a garden herbivore.

  13. I used to think the Eagles were singing ” think I’ll go get in a lineup” instead of “big ‘ole jet airliner”. My logic was that if you were in a lineup and that someone choose you, you’d have to stay in your home(town). It made sense then.

  14. Oh and I thought “Patio Lanterns” was actually a song about a girl named Patti O’Lanterns. I am Irish after all.

  15. I would like to preface this by stating I am old – and therefore, only had an OLD plastic, mono radio (turquoise of course). So I like to think that all the lyrics I got wrong in the 60’s were not my fault. I have no excuse for the 70’s, 80’s and beyond.

    “Blinded by the light – wrapped up like a douche another rumor in the night” instead of:
    “Blinded by the light, revved up like a deuce, another runner in the night” by Manfred Mann. Not sure but perhaps my version made more sense than the real thing! And I was in grade school and didn’t know what a douche was let alone a deuce (I think the 6th grade girls told me because they had had “the talk”).

  16. I always had trouble with Creedance lyrics. Like “There’s a bathroom on the right” instead of “There’s a bad moon on the rise” and “Dinosaur patrollin’, listen tuba goin'” instead of “Dinosaur victrola list’ning to Buck Owens”

  17. Not quite wrong lyrics, more of an ear worm thing, but I always think of the Wierd Al version of songs and struggle with remembering the original. For example: (American Pie) Oh my my, this here Anakin guy
    May be Vader someday later – now he’s just a small fry
    And he left his home and kissed his mommy goodbye
    Sayin’ “Soon I’m gonna be a Jedi”
    “Soon I’m gonna be a Jedi”

    Hope that doesn’t get stuck in your head!

  18. The lady who owned the Baskin Robbins I worked at through high school loved to sing – warble, actually – and one of her favourite songs was by Eric Clapton – “Way Down South”, as opposed to Lay Down Sally

    her favourite group at the time was a local band, Indian Arrowhead (in actuality, Teenage Head – no one knew where she got that one from)

  19. I know I’ve had a few, but I can’t seem to think of any.

    One I remember my friend having, though, was from “Dolphin’s Cry” by Live. Instead of “In the air we breathe tonight” she heard “In the air with Kryptonite.”

  20. I always thought it was “smooth opinion” instead of “smmoth up in ya” yep I grew up listening to big hair bands, stupid Bullet Boys.

    Also the Chili Peppers song that I swear went “fly away on my cell phone” as opposed to “fly away on my zephyr”

  21. I know I’m dating myself here, but it’s the only one I can think of right now. Jimi Hendrix, Purple Haze – scuse me while I kiss this guy, instead of scuse me while I kiss the sky. I even told my son that’s what it was. And he believed me.

  22. Okay — when I was little, there was a folk song that my mother used to listen to — I thought that it was about a “one ton tomato”…”she’s got a one ton tomato”….”one ton tomaaaaaato”…”yes, a one ton tomato….” and then a lot of Spanish… My mother used to smile and chuckle when I sang it — I thought she was smiling because my singing made her happy. It was, of course “Guantanamera” — a very famous Cuban song that has absolutely nothing at all to do with tomatoes…

  23. As a child I remember singing in church “Pizza’s flowing like a river..” instead of “Peace is flowing like a river”.

    A kinda like the idea of a river of pizza.

  24. Have you heard ” More than a woman….” A friend of my husband’s thought the lyrics were “Bald headed woman, she’s just a bald headed woman to me…”. This same friend thought the words “Do the hustle!” were “Chew the hotdog!”.

  25. I know this is way past the due date for comments, but I couldn’t resist this one. It’s not my own creation, but it’s stuck in my head for years. For the line “Smoke on the water, and fire in the sky” it was “Slow moving Walter, the fire engine guy”

    ha ha!
    a.

Leave a Reply

