Great input! Now Tell Us More…

Thanks to everyone who commented on the last post, telling us what your dream knitting bag would be like.  Keep the comments coming, if you have more to add!

You mentioned so many great features…now we’d like you to help us narrow it down a little.  So today’s question is all about that.

I think we can all agree that velcro shouldn’t be allowed anywhere NEAR our knitting. Excluding velco, what are your top 3 dealbreakers when it comes to bag features? Things that it absolutely must have or must not have, before you’ll even consider it.

We’ll leave this one up for a couple of days.

Anniversary Contest details:

If you’ve arrived here for the first time and have no clue why we’re asking these crazy questions, you should know that we’re running an Anniversary Contest!

The Anniversary Contest runs until August 4, at which point we will have a very unique drawing for the prizes. There are four prizes available:

1. The last remaining first Smart-Ass Knitters/World Domination Club package

2. A cable mug by Susanne James and a skein of either silk lace or merino sock yarn(your choice of in stock colours)

3.  A Darby Bayly project bag chosen by Otis, a skein of MCN Sport (in your choice of in stock colours) and a Storm Water Cowl pattern.

4.  A Tom Bihn Little Swift and 5 skeins of your choice of Indigodragonfly Yarn.  (Thanks Darcy, Tom and crew!)

So how do you enter?

Lots of ways.

1. Leave us a comment, and you get an entry (1 comment per day per person)

2. If you were the very, very first customer, you get an entry. (I know who you are, you don’t have to. )

3. Answer weird quiz questions. They will be random, both in their timing and their content. We will give entries to the first 1-5 correct answers (depending on how we feel that day…we’ll give you fair warning), either in the comments or by email. (If you leave them in the comments, quiz answers count as an entry in addition to your comment entry…are you confused yet? Good. We like you that way.)

4. Buy stuff. Heck, why not? For every $25 purchased, you get an entry.

OK…..GO!

24 thoughts on “Great input! Now Tell Us More…

  1. Oooohh nice prizes.

    For me, there MUST be a partition of some sort on the inside so that I can separate things. And some pockets for assorted organization.

  2. Dealbreaker: High pricetag.

    Must: Simple but attractive/elegant style, preferably with choice of fabrics.

    Another must: Shoulder strap.

  3. I really prefer a drawstring of some kind on my bag….. and some way to hang my locking row counter would be a huge bonus. And also some way to attach the bag to like a chair back or something so I can knit without worrying the bag is gonna slide everywhere.

  4. A handful of large and small compartments that can be securely closed are a requirement for me. And sturdy reinforced straps (preferably continued around the bottom of the bag for strength) that are comfortable and do not dig into the shoulder. Colours, shapes and materials are important, but my tastes are eclectic and I don’t have particular preferences about these. In the end, about those aesthetic features, it’s hit or miss for me – I just know when I see something that I like.

    Why soes it sound like I’m also describing the ideal bra?😉

  5. A deal breaker would be a floppy bag.
    A must would be lots of easy access pockets, ideally on the outside too, for keys and phone.
    I agree about straps being long enough to go over a winter coat.

  6. Dealbreakers for me would be:

    1. High price. Amen to that, dclulu
    2. Drawsting closure. Great for project bags, but not for a full-on knitting bag. I don’t need a big ol’ loop dangling to get caught on every doorknob, or million $ crystal gewgaw I pass by. Same for buckles, tabs or other easily snagged protruberances.
    3. Please include some at least “gender neutral” colors/patterns. Some brands are pure femme fatale, and that’s not for a guy like me. I know some women prefer that as well.

    I’d also like to jump on the long strap bandwagon, but not a dealbreaker as I’d just come up with something on my own.

  7. Deal breakers on a bag for me:

    The no gos – No depth, grabby zippers, not enough pockets.

    The gos – bright colors, compartments, adjustable strap.

    We are a picky bunch aren’t we?🙂

  8. Hi,
    I just was drooling over some of your yarn in Lettuce today, but the exact special completely right colour wasn’t there. But now I will answer your question anyways.
    Shoulder strap, plus shorter handles, so you can carry it in your hand without it dragging on the ground. No magnetic closures, because presumably sometime I will toss my wallet in there. Nice colours. A loop to clip your keys onto. A slim pocket for patterns. etc etc.

  9. Here are my three must-haves
    Closure – needs to close completely so that I fell safe popping my purse in, and so that nothing falls out when I accidentally tip it up again
    Carrying it Pain-free – At the least, comfortable straps that do not dig in, slide off, or require me to hike my shoulder up to keep the bag in place – doing that hurts! This is probably a very personal one, but I really, really would like to to be able to attach to my waist – maybe unclip one end of the straps and reclip around my waist? Pretty Please?🙂
    Keep stuff in place – Shaped pockets, or attachment rings/cliips for bags and pouches so that things stay where I put them…

  10. Deal breakers: pockets that don’t hold stuff, something that doesn’t stay closed when you want it closed, and it has to feel good…on my arm/shoulder and in my hands.

  11. 1. I actually don’t like zippers on my knitting bag. I think they snag the yarn too easily, a la velcro.
    2. An outside pocket with no snap would also make me put it back on the shelf. My bags get thrown around a lot.
    3. A bag that is a significant size–bit enough to hold a sweater-in-progress–must have a strap that will go over my shoulder. A shorter strap would get it rejected.

  12. Dealbreaker for me: Femininity (or certain versions of it, because I know it’s complex).

    Which I think means choice of fabrics has got to be important because other women really like feminine florals and pastel colours. But I’m more of a bright bold prints, stylized florals, batiks, etc. kinda gal.

    I would want to look at the options and be able to imagine one of the male knitters I know buying one.

  13. Dealbreakers:

    – Dry-clean only, unless it’s something wipeable like leather.
    – Too frilly/girly/cutesy. I’d prefer gender-neutral, but am not opposed to feminine if it doesn’t make me look like a little girl or an old lady.
    – Straps or handles that are the wrong length and not adjustable. Shoulder straps should either be adjustable or I should be able to choose the length when I buy it. Handles should be short enough that I can comfortably walk without worrying about dragging the bag in the mud.

  14. Dealbreaker: zippers. Just like velcro, they catch my yarn.
    Good things: nice wide opening, sturdy sides that won’t flop over, affordable price.

  15. Dealbreakers: strap is too short; it doesn’t close completely (like some drawstring bags that always have a bit of an opening); too expensive (more than $50 for a sock-size project bag)

  16. My wishlist:
    – affordable
    – durable fabric
    – decent size to hold a project or two, balls of wool, straight and circular needles, accessories
    – separate compartment/s for stitch holders, cable needles, measuring tape, pens, etc.
    – something that would stand up on its own and not flop over, perhaps even with luggage-type rubber feet on the bottom, so you could bring it with you to knit on the deck, work, car, boat, kayak, camping, anywhere!

  17. Dealbreakers for me would be:

    1) price too high (like I refuse to buy a Coach bag at such an inflated price tag just because it has the word COACH on it! hrmph)

    2) not enough room for my various everyday necessities.

    3) the bag is too heavy when its empty.

  18. Dealbreakers:
    1) Must have confortable shoulder Strap.
    2) Must be big enough to hold sweater in progress
    3) Must be fun/colorful/”happy” looking

  19. Divided compartments/pockets (at least 2)
    D-ring or place to clip keys
    Made of something water-resistant, washable or at least “wipe-downable” with clorox wipe or similar

  20. I think it’s kind of funny that pretty much all forms of bag closures have been declared deal-breakers by at least one person each.

    As for my own, I’m not sure. Definitely an excessively high price. Other than that, though, I’m just not sure. I think when I put a bag back on the shelf, it’s because it’s just not right. I don’t know if I could point to any specific thing that makes it not right. I should try, though, next time I’m purse shopping.

Leave a Reply

