Knitting!

I’ve started a ridiculous number of projects this week, most of which are not at a stage interesting enough to look at.  I’m completely smitten by Veronik Avery’s Linden though (Ravelry link).  In fact, the entire Twist Collective Fall issue is fantastic.  Beautiful patterns, most of which I’m dying to knit.  The weeklong search for the right yarn ended with some Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran Tweed in the most perfect blue-violet colour…exactly my favourite colour.  It’s a smaller gauge than required, but I’ve had great luck in downsizing the needle and upsizing the pattern, so it was worth a shot. I knit 2 (yep! two chances at being lied to!) swatches:  1 with the pattern suggested 5mm needles, and one with 4.5mm needles.  I also knit a cable swatch…Clara Parkes’ article … it’s brilliance.  After washing and blocking, I actually got gauge with the 5mm needles AND liked the fabric better than the 4.5mm fabric, so for a while it was looking like I wouldn’t have to make any changes.  So I knit the back…washed it and blocked it.  The fabric isn’t dense enough for my taste.  I could continue, but the sweater would be much more lightweight than I’d like.  So I’ve moved on…

left front, 4.5mm needles

left front, 4.5mm needles

This is the left front.  I’ve knit one size larger than I need on 4.5mm needles.  The fabric is great and the dimensions are dead on the size I want.  I’ve omitted the 2 stitches of garter stitch that would happen along the cable at the opening of the sweater.  The organic edge of the cable is wonderful and curls in just enough to create its own finish.  

There are 2 patterns to keep track of:  the cable pattern and the decreases in the body of the sweater.  To help me keep track of which row I’m on in the cables, I’ve come up with this system:

 

there are 3 knit rows between cable repeats in this pattern, so Ive got 3 markers ready to go

there are 3 knit rows between cable repeats in this pattern, so I've got 3 markers ready to go

 

move one marker each time you finish one knit row...when all 3 markers are at the top, you know its time to cable

move one marker each time you finish one knit row...when all 3 markers are at the top, you know it's time to cable

2 thoughts on “Knitting!

  1. Yess, your ravelry page is doing wonders for all of us with an inferiority complex. You’ve certainly gotten a lot started this week. Strikes fear into the heart of mortal knitters. Me, I’m just good at buying the stuff. Not so fast at knitting it anymore. Before the RA, I used to win the CSNF competitions (this was pre-Wannietta, of course).

    You are whetting my appetite for more Nora Gaughan, tho’, bad girl.😉

Leave a Reply

