My first meme

Tagged by Tracey…ok, here we go…

1) What was I doing ten years ago?

I was a full-time practicing textile artist and arts educator…which meant I also had about 5 other jobs! :)  At exactly this time of year (Memorial Day weekend), I was getting ready to move back to the US on a 6 month visa to take a course at Haystack Mountain School of Craft (which completely changed my life), to teach at an art school and to be step-mother (common-law) to 3 amazing kids. 

2) What are five (non-work) things on my to-do list for today:

Celebrate Glenna’s freedom! ….while knitting…working out a design issue…convincing the boy that it’s his turn to vaccuum…and puppy kisses.
3) Snacks I enjoy:

Chocolate chip cookies, wasabi peas, gummy bears, homemade guacamole…usually not all at once

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:
billionaire?  Dude, that’s a lot of money- and I’m just the girl to spend it:

Convince my cottage landlords that they DO indeed want to sell the cottage.  Build a shower in said cottage (believe it or not, my priority over insulation…go figure).  Open an open textile studio with all the necessary facilities and equipment, open to the public.  Start a foundation with grants for contemporary fine craft.    

5) Places I have lived:

Toronto, Haliburton county, Victoria BC, Newmarket NH, Eliot ME, Northampton MA

6) Jobs I have had:

bilingual exchange staff
music instructor at a day camp
staff at a camp for multihandicapped kids
tour guide (which involves explaining to tourists that yes, the CN tower IS taller than the Empire State building.  No, the Empire State building is not the tallest structure in the world…it’s not even the tallest structure in New York City!)
musician
singer
professional basketweaver
textile artist
arts educator
designer
manager at a “paint your own ceramics” bar
general manager of the Nathaniel Dett Chorale (also known as the Debt Chorale…)
manager of an inner city music school
manager with the Arts Network for Children and Youth
communications coordinator
Executive Director of Visual Arts Ontario

7) Peeps I want to know more about: 

I have no idea who reads this thing!  If it’s you, you’re TAGGED!  Yes!  You! 

 

3 thoughts on “My first meme

  1. I was wondering where you got the pattern for the mobius shawl you wore at the 1,000 knitters celebration. It was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

