Old and new…

I don’t think it’s a big secret to anyone in my life that I haven’t been happy at my job for a long time. I took this job to expand my own learning, but the learning stopped a long time ago and it’s not at all satisfying. I’ve tried taking some initiative and it’s become obvious that this place is not willing to let people work outside of their little box. So it’s time to move on. I’ve been applying and interviewing a lot over the past few months. It looks as though there’s one good prospect…and I’m waiting while they go through their various check phases. So we’ll see.

Now, in the middle of all this, I was made an interesting offer today. I met up with an old friend today, someone I haven’t seen in 15 years. It’s interesting how parallel our lives have been in many ways…career shifts and family health issues. She’s very talented and is now at the place in her creative career that I always knew she’d end up in. And she’s offered me a job. She needs help managing her career and my weirdo, mixed-up work experience over the past 15 years looks like just what she needs. Not the least of which, I know she needs someone who actually cares about her and someone she knows and trusts.

This would be taking a risk. A risk based on how successful she may actually get. A risk on trusting what I’ve worked very hard at learning how to do over so many years.

We’ll see.

In the meantime, I’ve finished the Clara tank…

clara-finished.jpg

clara-finished.jpgclara-finished.jpgSummary of modifications:

  1. changed the lace pattern at the hem to Beehive and Faggotting Lace from Barbara Walker 1
  2. added short rows at bustline – this definitely helped the fit of the top…the bottom edge at the front and the back are at the same length! Yay!
  3. changed the lace pattern at the neck to Honeybee and Faggotting Lace from Barbara Walker 2
  4. reduced the number of rows in the top (v-neck) section of the pattern because I’m short and even one more repeat of the pattern would have made the v-neck too deep.

One thought on “Old and new…

Leave a Reply

