it’s my own little form of rebellion…

…that I’ve never been able to bring myself to follow a pattern exactly. Something must be changed. I’m short. 5’0″ if I stretch a little. So sweaters usually end somewhere around my knees and sleeves cover my hands. Great for cold cottage nights, but not exactly the height of sophistication. So, you know the drill, the sleeves get shortened, the length gets shortened…oh right, and the stitch pattern…the shape…the button band becomes a wrap-around…and, well, you get the picture.

I’ve also been looking for the perfect summer top, and when I saw Laura’s Clara Tank, I knew that was it. The right shape, with some gentle waist shaping. A great v-neck, but not too deep. I just wanted it to be a little lacier than it was. And I’ve been in love with Anne’s bee design explorations. So bee lace it is!

clara-009.jpg

clara-009.jpgclara-009.jpg Enter the beehive lace border: Fagotting and Beehive Lace Pattern from Barbara Walker’s A Treasury of Knitting Patterns. I love it! There will be a different but related lace pattern along the neckline…I just haven’t decided on which one yet.

clara-007.jpg

The waist shaping is part of the pattern. I also decided to try my hand at short rows at the bustline which you can see some evidence of at the top of the above photo…cross your fingers for me!

Clara lace hem

Clara lace hem

Leave a Reply

